After 25 years, Onuachu becomes the first Nigerian to win Ebony Shoe Award

Super Eagles striker Paul Onuachu has emerged as the first Nigerian to win the coveted Ebony Shoe Award after 25 years of long wait.

The latest accolade for Onuachu is coming following his spectacular season for Racing Genk in the Belgian League.

Onuachu who presently is with the national team in Austria where the Eagles are bracing up for another friendly with the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon beat the other contenders to win the Ebony Shoe Award for the 2020/21 season

Antwerp and Congo Democratic Republic forward Dieurmaci Mbokani was the winner of last year’s award.

Onuachu, 27, was the top scorer in the Belgian Pro-League with 29 goals in 33 appearances.

He also scored four times in five games in the Jupiler Pro League PlayOff and once in the Beker van Belgie to bring his total tally to 35 in 41 games.

Onuachu becomes the fifth Nigerian to win the award after Daniel Amokachi (1992,1994), Victor Ikpeba (1993), Godwin Okapara (1995) and Celestine Babayaro (1996).

Onuachu saw off the competition from the Anderlecht duo of Albert Sambi Lokonga and Lukas Nmecha, his Genk teammate, Théo Bongonda, RSC to win this coveted award.

Club Brugge’s Angola defender, Clinton Mata was also in the running for the Ebony Shoe award which is given annually to the best African or African origin player in the Belgian Pro League.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker